WISEMOTION COURSE

Introduction to Neuroscience and Creative Movement

SEP 24TH – DEC 5TH 2021
(4 weekends and 3 individual mentoring sessions)

ZOOM
(recordings available)

Book Now

The WiseMotion Method improves brain health, emotional well-being and physical abilities with movement, meditation and neuroscience.

The course consist of movement practices, neuroscientific presentations, conversations and a Personal Project. The workshops are designed to promote processes in concentration, stress-reduction, creativity and embodied awareness. In addition, physical abilities such as the joint and muscle dynamics and balance are improved. During the neuroscientific presentations, practical examples are used and they are connected with the latest scientific discoveries to everyday life. The Personal Project is made individually on the topic the participant chooses. The project is mentored by Dr. Hanna Poikonen and the projects are presented at the end of the course.

COURSE IS DESIGNED FOR

Each participant completes their Personal Project which is free in format (text, training program, video, performance, installation etc.). The course is equivalent of 10 ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) points which we can apply to be approved as a part of your studies in your university/college/academy.

Professionals and
students in healthcare

Physiotherapists, occupational
therapists, psychologists, music and/
or dance therapists…

Professionals and
students in arts

Educators, choreographers, composers,
dancers, musicians, actors, cultural
producers…

People interested in
holistic health recovery

People with personal interest in
holistic health recovery and
maintenance.

Course Content & Time

Friday September 24th, Zoom + recording

Zoom + recording

INTRODUCTION TO THE COURSE

Helsinki EET 5 – 6.30 pm
Zurich CET 4 – 5.30 pm
New York City EDT 10 – 11.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

Saturday September 25th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 1

At the Intersection of Internal and External Worlds

– How do we connect with the environment through our senses?
– How are the sensory experiences processed in the brain?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5 – 6.30 pm
Zurich CET 4 – 5.30 pm
New York City EDT 10 – 11.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 2

Embodied Cognition

– How do our actions shape our sensory experiences?
– How are cognition and movement connected in the brain?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 6.30 – 8 pm
Zurich CET 5.30 – 7 pm
New York City EDT 11.30 am – 1 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Sunday September 26th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 3

Our Emotions and the External World

– How do our emotions influence our sensory experiences?
– How are emotions and embodiment connected in the brain?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5 – 6.30 pm
Zurich CET 4 – 5.30 pm
New York City EDT 10 – 11.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 4

The Importance of Sleep

– Why is proper sleep so important for our overall wellbeing and creativity?
– How does sleep deprivation modify the brain functions?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 6.30 – 8 pm
Zurich CET 5.30 – 7 pm
New York City EDT 11.30 am – 1 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Monday October 4th – Friday October 8th

INDIVIDUAL MENTORING 1

45-minute individual Zoom session to guide with the Personal Project

Saturday October 16th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 5

The Power of Imagination and Creativity

– How imagination and creativity can guide a recovery or an artistic process?
– What kind of brain functions enable imagination and creativity?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5 – 6.30 pm
Zurich CET 4 – 5.30 pm
New York City EDT 10 – 11.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 6

Individual and Group Flow

– How do the purpose and quality of performance come together in the flow state?
– What happens in the brain when we find our flow?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 6.30 – 8 pm
Zurich CET 5.30 – 7 pm
New York City EDT 11.30 am – 1 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Sunday October 17th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 7

Autonomic Nervous System

– How does the autonomic nervous system regulate our health, learning and creativity?
– How can we regulate the autonomic nervous system through movement, breathing and music?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5 – 6.30 pm
Zurich CET 4 – 5.30 pm
New York City EDT 10 – 11.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 8

Vagus Nerve for Calmness

– Why is slow breathing so important for calming down?
– How can we activate the vagus nerve through movement, breathing and music?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 6.30 – 8 pm
Zurich CET 5.30 – 7 pm
New York City EDT 11.30 am – 1 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Monday November 8th – Friday November 12th

INDIVIDUAL MENTORING 2

45-minute individual Zoom session to guide with the Personal Project

Saturday November 13th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 9

Social Neuroscience

– Why is social interaction so important for our health, learning and creativity?
– How does the social interaction shape our brain functions?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET, 4 – 5.30 pm
Zurich CET 3 – 4.30 pm
New York City EDT 9 – 10.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 10

Meditation in Stillness and Movement

– Why do we connect the best with ourselves and each other from calmness?
– How can we reach calmness and mental clarity through simple movement and breathing exercises?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5.30 – 7 pm
Zurich CET 4.30 – 6 pm
New York City EDT 10.30 am – 12 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Sunday November 14th

Zoom + recording

WORKSHOP 11

Embodied Collaboration

– How do we connect with each other through movement?
– How does shared unconscious movement create a sense of safety and belonging?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET, 4 – 5.30 pm
Zurich CET 3 – 4.30 pm
New York City EDT 9 – 10.30 am
Hong Kong HKT 10 – 11.30 pm

WORKSHOP 12

Brain in Movement

– Reflections and Conclusions – What have we learned over the course?
– How can we apply the gained scientific knowledge and embodied experience?

Single Session
Via Zoom
Helsinki EET 5.30 – 7 pm
Zurich CET 4.30 – 6 pm
New York City EDT 10.30 am – 12 pm
Hong Kong HKT 11.30 pm – 1 am

Monday November 30th – Friday December 3rd

INDIVIDUAL MENTORING 3

30-minute individual Zoom session to finalize the Personal Project

Saturday December 4th

Zoom

PRESENTATION OF THE PERSONAL PROJECTS

Helsinki EET 4 – 7 pm
Zurich CET 3 – 6 pm
New York City EDT 9 am – 12 pm
Hong Kong HKT 10 pm – 1 am

Sunday December 5th

Zoom

FEEDBACK AND THE CLOSURE OF THE COURSE

Helsinki EET 4 – 6 pm
Zurich CET 3 – 5 pm
New York City EDT 9 am – 11 pm
Hong Kong HKT 10 pm – 12 am

PRICE OF THE COURSE

Regular Price

(standard)

465 €

More Info Buy Now

Discount -15%

(students, unemployed, retired)

395 €

More Info Buy Now
Testimonials

“I found the workshops really helpful and reassuring. Hanna’s approach was great and I really enjoyed the mix between theory and practical work.”

Florence, Occupational Therapist London, UK

“Really appreciated the elegant combination of dance and neuroscience!”

Scientist Berlin, Germany

“Warm and good feeling both physically and mentally.”

Professional Contemporary Dancer Philadelphia, USA

“Hanna’s guidance was so gentle and inspiring, provide a very relaxed environment. Focus “just” on the body, feels like been to a sanctuary after the class. What we all need to find our way back to our own body! Highly recommend.”

Yvonne, Integrated Therapist Hong Kong

“A really refreshing experience!”

Journalist Kuopio, Finland

“On the workshops, I especially liked that, in addition to lectures, they also included embodied tasks which on their side enhanced my learning.”

Virva, Choreographer Helsinki, Finland

“I am very happy that I found you Hanna, you are doing a great job and you have a very nice personality!”

Movement Coach Zurich, Switzerland

WiseMotion is a method developed by Dr. Hanna Poikonen

 

Hanna has taught WiseMotion method worldwide in conferences such as Harvard Medical School (United States) and Swissotel Berlin (Germany) and in festivals and institutions such as Sanitas Mayores (Spain), Kuopio Dance Festival (Finland), Gibney Dance (New York City), Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona (Spain) and Alive Wellness (Hong Kong) as well as on online platforms such as the Digital Capsule of the Dublin Dance Festival 2020 and the International Association for Dance Medicine & Science iConference 2020. Currently, Hanna continues her Postdoctoral research at the ETH Zurich in Professorship of Learning Sciences and Higher Education focusing on neuroscience of embodied cognition.

More About

Cancellation conditions

The payment is refunded in full if the course is cancelled due to the organizer (WiseMotion Community). If a participant falls ill for more than three weeks (medical certificate required), course refund is given for the part of the course the participant is not able to attend. Optionally, access to the course content can be extended and the Personal Project mentored and finished with a postponed schedule.

Subscribe Monthly WiseMotion Newsletter